The Indian Chest Society was formed in the year 1980. A few foresighted respiratory medicine specialists couriered the idea. The lead was taken by Dr. S.R. Kamat, the then Chief of the Department of Chest Medicine at the K.E.M. Hospital, Mumbai. The core group involved in the planning and promoting of this society consisted of Dr. P.G. Kamath, Dr. J.C. Kothari and Dr. A.C. Shah from Mumbai, Dr. C.V. Ramakrishnanan from Chennai, Dr. C.N. Deivanayagan from Chennai Dr. K.J.R. Murthy from Hyderabad and Dr. Samir K. Gupta from Kolkata. The office of the society headquarters started functioning from K.E.M. Hospital, Mumbai.


Dr. S.K.Luhadia


Dr. Rajendra K Jenaw

Vice President

Dr. Rajesh Swarnakar


Dr. J.K.Samaria




Event VenueDate
Hands on Workshop on Thoracic UltrasoundAIIMS, Rishikesh, UK16th March 2018
General Body MeetingDharamshala24th-26th February 2018
Cardiopulmonary Exercise Testing (CPET) WorkshopChristian Medical College, Vellore3rd March 2018
Indian Chest Society Certified Two Days Workshop on SpirometryAECRT Hall, Getwell Hospital, Nagpur24th March 2018
Respiratory Update (Goa 2018) – Early bird deadline of 31 Jan fast approachingHoliday Inn, Goa20th-22nd July 2018